My E3 Round-Up

So that big event called E3 rolled in recently, destroying both my sleep pattern and expectations alike. I will openly admit that I honestly didn’t even care much this year, there was no hype or real expectation. This year just didn’t catch me as one to look forward to for whatever reason. Turns out this year was actually pretty good.

I’m not going to cover everything in detail, that’s easily been done to death everywhere else already, but in no particular order here’s my thoughts on E3 this year. If nothing else this is probably a good idea of my future articles coming to the site.

Resident Evil 7

resident-evil-7-4k-wallpaper-1400x788

“I didn’t think good old Resi would be announced at all this year. Our own Priest of Gamers said he expected just that and I brushed it off with something resembling doubt and future regret. Not only was I surprised however, but genuinely interested in the new Resident Evil 7 as they threw up the First Hour demo for PlayStation Plus members the same day. After playing it, all I can say is…yeah, I’m keen. I almost refuse to hope for too much at this point, but if the demo is indication of the next game in any way, I’m interested in seeing where Capcom takes it.

I hear so many complaints about this “Not being a real Resident Evil” and “This isn’t what the real fans want”, and honestly, so what? What do fans even want at this point? I will say openly that I do enjoy the franchise well enough for what it is, and I can certainly appreciate elements of what makes the games the dumb cheesy horror / actions titles they’ve become. Yet I’ve only played a handful of titles, mainly from Resident Evil 4 and up, and the series has been on a steady decline for years at this point. So many people are crucifying Capcom for trying something new with the franchise, but how on earth can they not at this point?

I don’t know how well this game will tie into what it was, or if it will be even remotely good, but at least I’m interested to find out this time.”

Read the rest of my round-up at http://badly.network/drenik/my-e3-round-up/